The hall of fame

The QIPCO British Champions Series Hall of Fame was launched in 2021 to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the formation of QIPCO British Champions Series.

The Hall of Fame will immortalise the equine and human champions of British Flat racing. It will focus on the modern greats of the sport from 1970 onwards, while simultaneously honouring the horses and people that have featured in the long history of the sport.

History of British Flat racing

Hall Of Famers

Hall of Famers are individuals (person or horse) who have contributed significantly to horseracing since 1970. They will have achieved remarkable exploits on a consistent basis at the pinnacle of the sport. Each Hall of Famer will receive an official induction, as well as a bespoke medal to commemorate their achievements. The inaugural inductees of the QIPCO British Champions Series Hall of Fame are the highest-rated racehorse of all time, Frankel and one of the greatest jockeys to grace the turf, Lester Piggott.

Hall of Famers
Lester Piggott Hall of Famer
Frankel Hall of Famer


Each year will typically see two induction ceremonies take place. One at the QIPCO Guineas Festival (May) and one at QIPCO British Champions Day (October). These two fixtures bookend QIPCO British Champions Series and provide the perfect opportunity to induct new Hall of Famers. Each will be presented with a bespoke medal as a permanent token of their induction into to the Hall of Fame.

There are four categories for induction into the Hall of Fame; Horses, Jockeys, Trainers and Special Contributors. The last-named is for any individual who does not fall into the other categories, such as Owners and Breeders. There is no set amount of inductions each year and they will be decided upon by a panel of experts.

The Panel

The Panel is a collection of horsemen and women, historians, journalists and broadcasters that will decide on the inductions into the Hall of Fame. The panel will convene twice a year to decide on inductions ahead of each induction ceremony. The panel will put together a shortlist of horses for the public vote.

The Panel

The Vote

The public vote enables you to have your say on which horse should be voted into the Hall of Fame. Each year, ahead of QIPCO British Champions Day, the judging panel will agree a shortlist of horses to be put to the public vote. It will then be up to you to help determine which of these horses is inducted. Make sure to keep an eye on our vote page for all the latest news on the public vote.

The Vote


We will also honour the achievements of those who contributed to the sport pre-1970. Throughout 2021, and prior to QIPCO British Champions Day we will take a journey through racing’s rich history. This journey will highlight some of the key figures to have raised the profile of the sport to where it is today. Starting in the  17th century we will work our way through to the 1960s, focusing on historic moments and legends of the sport.

History of Racing
Eclipse Hall of Fame History
Fred Archer Hall of Fame History